Iinterest in contributing code time

Hi,

I would have some interest in contributing some code. Nothing particular in mind, more just another coder doing the bit you don't want to. Have read the contributing on docs.nano.org, and clear on the "coding" part of the workflow, but not how you guys do issues Workflow/priority and how these issues link to discussion forum). It seems like you are mostly looking for idea submission, and implementation of these?

Wont have all the time in the world, but I have around 30 years professional coding experience, pretty much touch any language you can think of over that time (don't test me, you will likely catch me out in this lie :stuck_out_tongue: ) not CPP, but two different c++ Compilers (Borland, and Microsoft), a number of years ago. Looking build up a bit of blockchain code knowledge, and I can't think of a project I would want to do that on more than Nano. Reading through the code, nothing jumped out at me as alien.

I suppose I am saying, is there anywhere I can see a list of things that I could actually help with, and not get in the way, as you guys are obviously pretty busy. Just looking to start on some simple busy work that you wish you had time for (every code base has tech debt), or something not on the critical path for release. If not, no offence taken.

3 Likes

I started today offering my services to Nano Foundation as a software engineer and I will be going through a similar path to the path you wish take. We can stay in touch and see if we can collaborate. I started my own github project as a way to capture to initial my steps, which may be of interest to you:

2 Likes

I'm not a coder, but love to see this. In case you get too little reply here - the Discord (https://chat.nano.org/) #development channel is more active than the forums here.

1 Like