Enhancing decentralization by design, by choosing PRs through weighted STV

I’m pretty new to this and I’m not a programmer, so I hope this makes sense. I’m wondering if there may be a way to build on Nano’s unique consensus mechanism to enhance decentralization by design. That is, it could be possible to reduce the risks of a >50% attack by slightly changing the way that Principal Representatives are chosen.

Assumptions

The suggestion below is based on the following assumptions:

1. Nano account holders should be free to delegate their voting weight to any representative node without restriction.
  2. Delegation decisions should be given as much effect as possible (e.g. minimizing ineffective or “wasted” delegations when delegating to a sub-0.1% node which then makes no contribution to consensus until it reaches 0.1% of delegations).
  3. There should be no incentive to try to game the system by strategic delegation of voting weight.

The Single Transferable Vote

The single transferable vote (“STV”, aka “ranked choice voting”) is an electoral system that maximizes the effectiveness of votes cast in elections by minimizing wasted votes, and produces results that reflect the shades of opinion in the voting population rather than “winner takes all”. This is kind of analogous to decentralization. It is used in various forms for political elections in Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Malta and I believe in a range of local elections in some parts of the US.

The most sophisticated form of STV is to count using Meek’s Method, which uses a specially designed algorithm, see Algorithm Supplement: Single Transferable Vote by Meek's Method

To quote that paper, the basics of STV are:

1. Voting by order of preference of candidates, the first choice being marked 1, the second 2, and so on, on the ballot papers.

2. A quota for election, calculated from the number of votes and the number of seats to be filled.